Select Your Language

Select Your Currency

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
Visa-free entry to Japan: Country list & guide

Exploring Japan, a nation known for its rich history and modern marvels, is now more accessible thanks to visa-free travel for certain passport holders.

This convenient option removes the complex visa application process, making it easier for many travelers to experience Japan's unique culture and stunning landscapes.

Fill me in

In this blog, we'll provide a comprehensive guide to the countries that enjoy visa-free entry to Japan. Our aim is to simplify your travel preparation, helping you focus on the excitement of your upcoming journey to this captivating country.

Which countries can enter Japan without a visa?

Here are the countries whose citizens are allowed visa-free entry to Japan. The general rule allows a visa-free stay of up to 90 days for most countries.

Andorra Italy Slovenia Portugal
Austria Latvia Spain Romania
Belgium Liechtenstein* Sweden San Marino
Bulgaria Lithuania Switzerland Serbia
Croatia Luxembourg United Kingdom Slovakia
Cyprus Malta Netherlands Norway
Czech Republic Monaco North Macedonia Poland
Denmark Estonia Finland Germany
Greece Hungary France Iceland
Ireland - - -
Brunei (14 days) Republic of Korea Hong Kong Turkey
Indonesia (15 days) Singapore Macao United Arab Emirates (30 days)
Malaysia Thailand (15 days) Taiwan Qatar (30 days)
Latin America and the Caribbean
Argentina Chile El Salvador Mexico
Bahamas Costa Rica Guatemala Suriname
Barbados Dominican Republic Uruguay Brazil
Honduras - - -
North America Oceania Middle East Africa
Canada Australia Israel Mauritius
United States New Zealand Lesotho Tunisia
  • Citizens from these countries can enter Japan without a visa and are allowed an initial stay of up to 90 days, which can be extended for up to six months​.

  • Citizens from these countries need to have ePassports that comply with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards to qualify for visa-free entry.

  • Citizens from these countries must have a Machine-Readable Passport (MRP) or an e-Passport in compliance with ICAO standards.

Hong Kong citizens must have a Special Administrative Region (SAR) passport issued by Hong Kong or a British National Overseas (BNO) passport with the right of residence in Hong Kong. Macao citizens must have a SAR passport issued by Macao. For Taiwanese citizens, the visa exemption is limited to passport holders with a personal ID number.

What to know before traveling visa-free to Japan

The primary requirement for nationals who can enter Japan without a visa is a valid passport.

Visa-free entry is typically granted for tourism, business, or visiting friends and relatives, not for employment or long-term stays. Visitors must stay only for the allowed duration and may need to provide evidence of return or onward travel and sufficient funds for their stay.

For longer stays, especially from countries allowed up to six months (like the United Kingdom, Germany, and Switzerland), an extension must be applied for within Japan before the initial 90-day period expires.

What if I need a visa to enter Japan?

If your country doesn’t have a visa exemption agreement with Japan, you’ll need to apply for a Japan eVisa, a Japan Tourist Visa or a sticker visa at the nearest Japanese embassy or consulate.

Learn more about the different types of visas offered by Japan.

Where to get support

For assistance while traveling in Japan, your country's embassy or consulate can provide support. Use our Embassies Finder to locate the nearest diplomatic mission.

If you want to apply for a Japanese visa and have questions, you can get in touch with our customer support team. Contact them any time via WhatsApp or through the iVisa chat.

Chat on WhatsApp
Intercom Chat