Select Your Language

Select Your Currency

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
South Korea visa-exempt: Who doesn’t need a South Korean visa or ETA?

Travelers around the globe have long been captivated by South Korea's unique blend of ancient traditions and cutting-edge modernity.

Fortunately, for citizens of many countries, traveling to South Korea is made easier through visa exemptions and the Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) system.

Fill me in

South Korea has established visa exemption agreements with several countries, allowing for hassle-free visits for tourism, business, or visiting relatives. This arrangement not only simplifies the travel process but also fosters a spirit of openness and cultural exchange.

Find out if you need a visa or ETA, or are visa-exempt to visit South Korea in this article.

Which nationalities are visa-exempt for South Korea?

Visa exemptions for South Korea are primarily based on bilateral agreements or specific visa policies designed by the South Korean government.

Here's an overview of visa exemptions, offering travelers up to 0, 60, or even 90 days of stay without a traditional visa. However, keep in mind these rules and regulations can change quickly, use our handy visa checker for the latest info.

Visa-free entry for 6 months: Canada*

Visa-free entry for 3 months:

  • Belgium

  • Greece

  • Liechtenstein

  • Luxembourg

  • Malaysia

  • Mexico

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Suriname

  • Switzerland

Visa-free entry for 90 days:

  • European Union member states, except Belgium, Cyprus, Greece, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Argentina

  • Australia

  • Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Costa Rica

  • Dominica

  • Dominican Republic

  • Ecuador

  • El Salvador

  • Grenada

  • Guam

  • Guatemala

  • Haiti

  • Hong Kong

  • Iceland

  • Israel

  • Jamaica Japan

  • Kuwait

  • Macao

  • Morocco

  • Nicaragua

  • Norway

  • Panama

  • Peru

  • Qatar

  • Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Saint Lucia

  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

  • Serbia

  • Singapore

  • Taiwan

  • Thailand

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Turkey

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United Kingdom

  • United States

  • Uruguay

  • Venezuela

Visa-free entry for 60 days:

  • Lesotho

  • Russia

Visa-free entry for 30 days:

  • Albania

  • Andorra

  • Bahrain

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Brunei

  • Cyprus

  • Eswatini

  • Fiji

  • Guyana

  • Honduras

  • Kazakhstan

  • Kiribati

  • Marshall Islands

  • Mauritius

  • Micronesia

  • Monaco

  • Montenegro

  • Nauru

  • New Caledonia

  • Oman

  • Palau

  • Paraguay

  • Samoa

  • San Marino

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Seychelles

  • Solomon Islands

  • South Africa

  • Tonga

  • Tunisia

  • Tuvalu

  • Vatican City

Understanding South Korea's visa-exemption policy

The visa exemption policy is part of South Korea's broader initiative to encourage tourism, business exchanges, and cultural interaction.

Travelers benefiting from this policy can engage in various activities, including tourism, family visits, and business-related travels, without the need for a visa. However, like most countries with visa-free access, you still need a travel authorization, also known as an ETA, to visit the country.

K-ETA: A step towards simplified travel

For nationals of visa-exempt countries, entering South Korea goes hand-in-hand with the introduction of the Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA).

An ETA is a basic travel document, different from a visa, to make sure the country is prepared for your arrival. During the registration process, you’ll have to submit your contact and passport details, travel itinerary, accommodation details, and more.

The pre-entry ETA registration process is quick, user-friendly, and can be completed 100% online, making travel preparations even smoother for eligible tourists.

Fill me in

When to apply for a South Korea K-ETA?

You’ll usually receive your ETA within a couple of days after application, and you must apply at least 24 hours before departure.

Just to be sure, we always recommend getting all your travel documents in order at least a week before departure.

Do I need a South Korean ETA when transiting in the country?

No, transit passengers not entering South Korea (staying in the international transit side of the airport) don’t need to have a K-ETA.

If you require a visa for South Korea, the rules for transit may differ. Reach out to your nearest South Korean Embassy or Consulate for more info.

Need more info about South Korean visa rules?

Reach out to our customer service team via online chat or WhatsApp. We’re happy to assist!

Related Articles

Chat on WhatsApp
Intercom Chat