Select Your Language

Select Your Currency

  • AED United Arab Emirates Dirham
  • AFN Afghan Afghani
  • ALL Albanian Lek
  • AMD Armenian Dram
  • ANG Netherlands Antillean Guilder
  • AOA Angolan Kwanza
  • ARS Argentine Peso
  • AUD Australian Dollar
  • AWG Aruban Florin
  • AZN Azerbaijani Manat
  • BAM Bosnia-Herzegovina Convertible Mark
  • BBD Barbadian Dollar
  • BDT Bangladeshi Taka
  • BGN Bulgarian Lev
  • BIF Burundian Franc
  • BMD Bermudan Dollar
  • BND Brunei Dollar
  • BOB Bolivian Boliviano
  • BRL Brazilian Real
  • BSD Bahamian Dollar
  • BWP Botswanan Pula
  • BZD Belize Dollar
  • CAD Canadian Dollar
  • CDF Congolese Franc
  • CHF Swiss Franc
  • CLP Chilean Peso
  • CNY Chinese Yuan
  • COP Colombian Peso
  • CRC Costa Rican Colón
  • CVE Cape Verdean Escudo
  • CZK Czech Republic Koruna
  • DJF Djiboutian Franc
  • DKK Danish Krone
  • DOP Dominican Peso
  • DZD Algerian Dinar
  • EGP Egyptian Pound
  • ETB Ethiopian Birr
  • EUR Euro
  • FJD Fijian Dollar
  • FKP Falkland Islands Pound
  • GBP British Pound Sterling
  • GEL Georgian Lari
  • GIP Gibraltar Pound
  • GMD Gambian Dalasi
  • GNF Guinean Franc
  • GTQ Guatemalan Quetzal
  • GYD Guyanaese Dollar
  • HKD Hong Kong Dollar
  • HNL Honduran Lempira
  • HTG Haitian Gourde
  • HUF Hungarian Forint
  • IDR Indonesian Rupiah
  • ILS Israeli New Sheqel
  • INR Indian Rupee
  • ISK Icelandic Króna
  • JMD Jamaican Dollar
  • JPY Japanese Yen
  • KES Kenyan Shilling
  • KGS Kyrgystani Som
  • KHR Cambodian Riel
  • KMF Comorian Franc
  • KRW South Korean Won
  • KYD Cayman Islands Dollar
  • KZT Kazakhstani Tenge
  • LAK Laotian Kip
  • LBP Lebanese Pound
  • LKR Sri Lankan Rupee
  • LRD Liberian Dollar
  • LSL Lesotho Loti
  • MAD Moroccan Dirham
  • MDL Moldovan Leu
  • MGA Malagasy Ariary
  • MKD Macedonian Denar
  • MNT Mongolian Tugrik
  • MOP Macanese Pataca
  • MUR Mauritian Rupee
  • MVR Maldivian Rufiyaa
  • MWK Malawian Kwacha
  • MXN Mexican Peso
  • MYR Malaysian Ringgit
  • MZN Mozambican Metical
  • NAD Namibian Dollar
  • NGN Nigerian Naira
  • NIO Nicaraguan Córdoba
  • NOK Norwegian Krone
  • NPR Nepalese Rupee
  • NZD New Zealand Dollar
  • OMR Omani Rial
  • PAB Panamanian Balboa
  • PEN Peruvian Nuevo Sol
  • PGK Papua New Guinean Kina
  • PHP Philippine Peso
  • PKR Pakistani Rupee
  • PLN Polish Zloty
  • PYG Paraguayan Guarani
  • QAR Qatari Rial
  • RON Romanian Leu
  • RSD Serbian Dinar
  • RUB Russian Ruble
  • RWF Rwandan Franc
  • SAR Saudi Riyal
  • SBD Solomon Islands Dollar
  • SCR Seychellois Rupee
  • SEK Swedish Krona
  • SGD Singapore Dollar
  • SHP Saint Helena Pound
  • SLL Sierra Leonean Leone
  • SOS Somali Shilling
  • SRD Surinamese Dollar
  • SVC Salvadoran Colón
  • SZL Swazi Lilangeni
  • THB Thai Baht
  • TJS Tajikistani Somoni
  • TOP Tongan Pa anga
  • TRY Turkish Lira
  • TTD Trinidad and Tobago Dollar
  • TWD New Taiwan Dollar
  • TZS Tanzanian Shilling
  • UAH Ukrainian Hryvnia
  • UGX Ugandan Shilling
  • USD United States Dollar
  • UYU Uruguayan Peso
  • UZS Uzbekistan Som
  • VND Vietnamese Dong
  • VUV Vanuatu Vatu
  • WST Samoan Tala
  • XAF CFA Franc BEAC
  • XCD East Caribbean Dollar
  • XPF CFP Franc
  • YER Yemeni Rial
  • ZAR South African Rand
  • ZMW Zambian Kwacha
India visa extension: Complete guide

If you already have a visa for India, but the expiration date is approaching, applying for a visa extension is possible.

For the Indian visa extension process, you must complete an online application on the Indian Government Website or the Bureau of Immigration website.

Fill me in

Extending your India Visa

You have three options for an India Tourist eVisa: 30 days, 1 year, or 5 years validity. The number of entries and length of stay are different for each.

The Indian Medical Visa is valid for 60 days and up to three entries, while the Indian Business Visa allows multiple entries and is valid for up to 1 year.​

For comprehensive information on your India Tourist e-visa validity, check out our blog.

Already in India and want to extend your visa?

If you are already in India and wish to extend your stay, you can contact the FRRO( The Foreigners Registration Office), which decides the policy of extension of visas. This can be done through the e-FRRO, an online FRRO/FRO service delivery mechanism that eliminates the need to visit an FRRO/FRO Office. All foreigners who desire Visa and Immigration services in India, including registration, visa extension, visa conversion, and exit permits, must apply for e-FRRO​1​.

You also have the option to exit India for a few days by traveling to a neighboring country like Sri Lanka or Nepal and then re-applying for a Tourist Visa with us or the Indian Government.

How long does it take to get a visa extension in India?

The visa extension processing time usually takes 7 to 10 days after the form submission and payments are made. The FRRO/FRO visa officers request that foreign nationals apply for the extension at least 60 days before the expiration date.

What happens if I overstay my Indian Visa?

In case of an overstay, it's important to note that the penalties can be severe. For instance, if you have not contacted the Foreigners Regional Registration Officers (FRRO) and have breached your eVisa stay condition, you are liable to pay a fine of $100 for one week of extra stay and $300 for one year of stay in India at the Indian Airport or Seaport at the time of departure​.

While shorter overstays may not result in legal action, those who have committed additional crimes while in India may be banned from the country for a specific period or indefinitely.

Can the India eVisa be Extended?

The electronic Indian Visa cannot be extended. If you need to stay longer, apply for a new eVisa, which is not extensible, cancellable, transferable, or amendable.

Contact us for more information

If you have any more questions regarding your India Visa extension don't hesitate to contact us via Chat or WhatsApp.

Chat on WhatsApp
Intercom Chat